Throughout life, there is one thing that gets you through the ups and downs. That helps you sift through self-doubt, heartbreak and confusion. That pulls you back up onto your feet when you stumble and just can’t get up by yourself. Friends.

Totally cheeseball, I know. I sound like a wannabe Hallmark card that didn’t quite make the cut – but all that aside, I mean it.

Over the past couple of years, I have been through a gamut of things. The family business burnt down, one of my closest friends passed away, I was hit by a car while riding home on my scooter, I ended a 5+ year relationship – could be worse, but hell, could have been a hell of a lot easier as well. And today? I’m actually a stronger and better person… due to my friends.

My group of friends is a mix. There is my core group of girls, five of us in total, and their respective partners. Then I have other friends, individuals from my High School days, work, or just acquired through circumstance. Every single one of these beloved people have shown my why it’s worth getting up in the morning.

When you have a terrible accident like I did, you expect people to all come running in the first few days, then just as quickly vanish with mumbled well-wishes. Which, in a way, I understand. Just because one persons life has stopped, doesn’t mean everybody else’s has to too. But my experience was quite the opposite. Over the three months of being in Hospital, I was never alone. I constantly had company, support, and lots of treats! I had friends take days off work and sit with me during the tough days, and every single night I had everyone turn up for a group dinner by my bedside. You have no idea how much this meant to someone who felt like their entire life had been snatched away, at least for the foreseeable future.

And, just as importantly, these amazing people have continued to grace me with the kind of friendship I know for a fact most people don’t get to experience in their lifetime. I do not spend one night at home unless I want to. If I have a problem that I cannot fix, help is always offered. My ramblings are always listened to, my hurts understood, my achievements celebrated.

You get what you give in life – and the fact I have such a wonderful “chosen family” makes me feel accomplished in myself. I must be doing something right if I have retained such relationships.

To all of those people – you know who you are – I thank you, and I love you.

*Right, no more drinking for me, I get overly emotional! OVER AND OUT!*

You just can't beat good friends...

